UTAH TRIP

Headed to Bryce Canyon

The rain slowed us down, but we still did some hiking

James Jordan
3 min readOct 9, 2021

--

Kodachrome State Park is not as colorful on a rainy day. Photo by james

A day of rain today, but we managed to get a little exploring done. We drove from Escalante to the town of Canonvile, which is next door to Bryce Canyon.

We went south to Kodachrome State Park and hiked in the rain. The rain was light but steady. I was worried about my camera. I had a poncho on, and my camera was under that. I was judicious in the pictures I took.

We went on one trail for a while in a steady rain. We crossed a couple of very small streams on the way in, and we learned how quickly things can change. On the way back those small streams were much larger. More than you could do with one step. I only got one foot wet though.

hiking in the rain

We went on a second trail that was easier, and I didn't take my camera. I took a few with my phone. There were so many things that would have made great photos. That’s how it is in this part of the country. Everywhere you look is a great photo waiting to be taken.

I am missing my good hiking boots. I have some good shoes that are great for walking on relatively flat land and…

--

--

James Jordan

Teller of tales, many of which are actually true. Award-winning journalist, and the William Allen White Award for reporting.