Mental Health

How to Avoid ADHD Hibernation

The spiral into depression is hard to escape

James Jordan
5 min readNov 3, 2022

--

Photo by Wilfried Santer on Unsplash

The last week or so has been perfect hiking weather. I am retired, which means I can do anything I want to do. I love hiking, so … why have I stayed in my house playing video games I don't even like instead of doing what I want to do?

It's an ADHD-fueled fog that is like depression. There are things I know to do when I feel depressed. I know it is caused by chemicals in the brain, and I know there are things I can do to adjust those chemicals. But when the fog sets in, the last thing you want to do is anything that would help at all.

Instead of hiking, I was hiding out in the house on my computer.

Instead of eating right, I was either not eating at all, or eating unhealthy things.

Instead of taking my pills, I was drinking copious amounts of coffee.

I know those things just make it worse, but at the time you feel there is no other choice. Frustration rises, and that makes it all even worse.

The last day or two has been better. The fog is lifting slowly. It was the last thing I wanted to do, but I managed to get to the gym for a good workout. It's a matter of fighting through it now. I am going to go hiking in the…

--

--

James Jordan

Teller of tales, many of which are actually true. Award-winning journalist, and the William Allen White Award for reporting.